My 2015 in Books: Mystery/Thriller

This has become my favorite genre over the last two years. I read enough in 2015 to merit a separate posting. Books are listed in order of most enjoyed to least.

  1. Theshortdrop.jpg Short Drop by Matthew Fitzsimmons: This was my favorite book of the year. I picked it up through Amazon’s program of introducing books early, which is free for Prime members. I cannot believe how good this book was. I loved it. Well-written, well-executed, it was a perfect thriller. I will probably read it again this year.
  2. Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith: Fantastic third book to the series, can’t wait for the next one.
  3. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins: I really enjoyed the different perspectives in this book. It was different in a good way without trying too hard to be different.
  4. Finders Keepers by Stephen King: The original, Mr. Mercedes, was my favorite fiction book last year. I really liked this one until the end when it took a hard left from being in great thriller territory into Stephen King territory. I’m scared for Part III.
  5. Joyland by Stephen King: Kind of the same thing as Finders Keepers, I enjoyed the mystery/thriller part, but there was some Stephen King paranormal stuff that didn’t jive for me. Still a good read.
  6. A Walk Among the Tombstones by Lawrence Block: This was the first Matthew Scudder novel I read and my favorite. It’s a very well done mystery.
  7. In the Woods by Tana French: This book was extremely frustrating for me. It was on all kinds of “can’t put it down” lists, but I struggled to get through it. It took several tries throughout the year to finish it. I don’t know why, it was just really slow. The mystery was well done, I just couldn’t move through it.
  8. A Long Line of Dead Men by Lawrence Block: These final three were all fine books to pickup and read and be done with. Nothing spectacular. Nothing terrible.
  9. Witness to Myself by Seymour Shubin
  10. The Sins of the Fathers by Lawrence Block

Leave a comment