Beck – ‘Morning Phase’

Beck_Morning_PhaseI saw a link to NPR streaming Beck’s upcoming album Morning Phase while I was working from home and had about an album-length amount of time left in my day, so I figured I’d turn it on in the background and take some notes on the side.

I’ve never been a professed Beck fan. I know and enjoy the songs many in my generation know. I’m aware of how many turntables he possessed at one point in his career. Suffice it to say, though, I’m generally uneducated when it comes to Beck’s music, so I apologize for any ignorance I may exude. However, maybe the fresh perspective will give it a more honest look. Yeah, let’s go with that.

Morning Phase opens softly with “Morning” (should have saw that coming). It was nice working music. Very serene and not over-powering.

The second track, “Heart is a Drum” is a little more upbeat, but I’m starting to get the idea that this isn’t silly Beck. Quirky, yes, but not silly. The feel of the album at this point sounds like it could be penned to serve as a soundtrack of a Wes Anderson film or a Bill Murray finding himself in a coming-of-older-age flick (though sometimes those are one in the same).

The rest of the album is more of the same. Low key, very mellow. Not what I expected but again I’m rather out of touch with Beck, so maybe this is normal now.

One thing that didn’t surprise me is that the instrumentals are clever. Even with limited knowledge of Beck I expected high-levels of creativity and was not disappointed. Even in the few songs that sound like something you may have heard before (of which there are a few) there’s something in the arrangement that makes them unique.

This isn’t a stand-out album, I doubt it will compel me to catch up on whatever Beck has done over the last decade-and-change. But, if I need something to have on in the background while I work, this will be hanging out in Spotify once it’s available.

2 thoughts on “Beck – ‘Morning Phase’

Leave a comment